The Middle Daughter (Hardcover)

The Middle Daughter By Chika Unigwe Cover Image
$26.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A lush, powerful tale of family and sisterhood from award-winning author Chika Unigwe, perfect for fans of Bernardine Evaristo and Tayari Jones

Udodi's death was the beginning of the raging storm but at that moment, we thought that the worst had already happened, and that life would treat us with more kindness.

When seventeen-year-old Nani loses her older sister and then her father in quick succession, her world spins off its axis. Isolated and misunderstood by her grieving mother and sister, she's drawn to an itinerant preacher, a handsome self-proclaimed man of God who offers her a new place to belong. All too soon, Nani finds herself estranged from her family, tethered to her abusive husband by children she loves but cannot fully comprehend. She must find the courage to break free and wrestle her life back--without losing what she loves most.

A modern reimagining of the myth of Hades and Persephone within a Nigerian family, The Middle Daughter charts Nani's journey to freedom and homecoming.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781950539468
ISBN-10: 1950539466
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Language: English

The Vermont Book Shop  |   38 Main Street, Middlebury, VT   |   (802) 388-2061  |  orders@vermontbookshop.com

Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicyReturn / Refund Policy | Shipping & Payment Information | Contact Us