The Torch Singer, Book Two: An Almost Perfect Ending (Paperback)

The Torch Singer, Book Two: An Almost Perfect Ending By Robert Westbrook Cover Image
This book is not available for purchase online. Contact us for further information.


An Almost Perfect Ending is book two in The Torch Singer trilogy, Robert Westbrook's epic Hollywood Thriller series.

"'An Almost Perfect Ending' ranks alongside the best Hollywood noir. It takes the reader on a journey which leads relentlessly towards a final, fatal conclusion."
Daily Mail

Book Two, An Almost Perfect Ending opens with sultry heroine Sonya Saint-Amant at the height of her career-a glittering, triumphant appearance at Ciro's, the clubhouse for the stars in 1950s Hollywood where everyone wants to claim her as their friend.

But in 1954, popular music is undergoing a revolution in which all but the biggest stars will be cast aside. With her looks and popularity fading, Sonya believes she has come up with the perfect plan to save her career . . . if only she can maneuver a tricky path through the many dangers that beset her, a vortex of politics, sex, blackmail, and murder . . .

"Pacy and unstoppable, the second book in the "The Torch Singer" series takes over where the first left off, grabbing your wrist, tugging you along, refusing to let go."
Evening Standard

"'The Torch Singer' exposes the fragility of fame. The higher the edifice the greater the risk that some element of deep-set animal emotion or human baseness will bring everything crashing down . . . and watching it happen is not just compulsive-it's addictive and unmissable."
Event Magazine

"Robert Westbrook is a born storyteller and a bit of a magician."
Ally Sheedy

Ambition, blackmail, murder . . . THE TORCH SINGER is an unforgettable journey through the shadowlands of fame.

About the Author

ROBERT WESTBROOK grew up in the world of which he writes. The child of Hollywood parents in the Golden Age he brings the period alive with insight, humor, and an insider's knowledge of show business. He is the author of two critically-acclaimed mystery series, including Ancient Enemy, nominated for a Shamus Award as the Best P.I. Novel of 2002, and "Intimate Lies", a memoir detailing the relationship between his mother, Hollywood Columnist Sheilah Graham and the author F. Scott Fitzgerald which was published by HarperCollins in 1995. His first novel, "The Magic Garden of Stanley Sweetheart", was made into an MGM motion picture. The first book in "The Torch Singer" trilogy, "An Overnight Sensation", was published in 2014. The third and concluding book, "The Saint of Make-Believe" will be published in 2015.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781926499024
ISBN-10: 1926499026
Publisher: Swan's Nest Canada
Publication Date: September 15th, 2014
Pages: 298
Language: English

The Vermont Book Shop  |   38 Main Street, Middlebury, VT   |   (802) 388-2061  |

Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicyReturn / Refund Policy | Shipping & Payment Information | Contact Us