A Reason to Run (Paperback)

A Reason to Run By Mike Magluilo Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 11 5:30pm
(VT Authors Fiction)

Description


For fans of Jeff Zentner, John Green, Matthew Quick, and sports fiction classics like Once a Runner, Vision Quest, The Rider, and Breaking Away.


Set in 1980s suburban Chicago, A Reason to Run is a thrilling and heartwarming coming-of-age story about a teenage boy who learns how to live after a tragic accident nearly ends his life.


Days before his senior year of high school, a violent bicycling accident destroys Sam Bagliarello's plans to escape the isolation of his hometown and his family's battles with substance abuse, mental illness, and financial ruin. When Sam starts running as physical therapy, he discovers an exceptional natural talent, a new form of escape, and an opportunity to heal his broken body along with the broken relationships in his life.


A Reason to Run offers a vivid take on recovery from tragedy, the intensity of competitive running, and a teen's revelation that somewhere in the messiness of life is the stuff that matters.

About the Author


Mike Magluilo is a writer and recovering finance professional. A Reason to Run is his first novel. Mike grew up in the Chicago suburbs and currently lives in Vermont. Follow Mike at www.MikeMagluilo.com.

Praise For…


“A Reason to Run is a captivating coming-of-age story that transports readers back to the 1980s with its vivid blend of music, nostalgia, and youthful exuberance. Sam Bagliarello’s journey from tragedy to triumph through the world of competitive running is a thrilling and inspiring tale that captures a specific moment in time with incredible accuracy and heart. A must-read for anyone who loves a good underdog story!”

—Erik Lindsay, screenwriter of American Pie: The Naked Mile, American Pie: Beta House, and Last Call


Product Details
ISBN: 9781578691456
ISBN-10: 1578691451
Publisher: Rootstock Publishing
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 284
Language: English

The Vermont Book Shop  |   38 Main Street, Middlebury, VT   |   (802) 388-2061  |  orders@vermontbookshop.com

Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicyReturn / Refund Policy | Shipping & Payment Information | Contact Us