Missee Lee: The Swallows and Amazons in the China Seas (Paperback)

Missee Lee: The Swallows and Amazons in the China Seas Cover Image
Email or call for price
Hard to Find


Friendship, resourcefulness, and sailing, too Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series has stood the test of time. More than just great stories, each one celebrates independence and initiative with a colorful, large cast of characters.
In Missee Lee, the original cast of Swallows and Amazons is sailing under the command of Captain Flint in the South China Sea when Gibbet, their pet monkey, grabs the captain's cigar and drops it in the fuel tank. In minutes, the ship is ablaze (and doomed), and our seven luckless protagonists are adrift in two small boats. They make their way to land, only to find themselves the captives of one of the last remaining pirates operating off the China Coast. But Missee Lee, as it turns out, is no ordinary pirate; her father had sent her off to Cambridge University to prepare her for a life as a teacher. But when her father takes ill and dies, she finds herself struggling to hold together the Three Island Confederation (Tiger, Turtle, and Dragon) he had created, and to be recognized as his legitimate heir and ruler of the Island Kingdom.
Ransome is, as always, the consummate storyteller. The Observer called this, the tenth book in the series, "his best yet . . . a book to buy, to read, and to read again, not once but many times." The Guardian put Missee Lee "in a class by itself."
The entire Swallows and Amazons series is for children or grownups, anyone captivated by a world of adventure and imagination, exploring and setting sail.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781567921960
ISBN-10: 1567921965
Publisher: David R. Godine Publisher
Publication Date: January 1st, 2001
Pages: 349
Language: English

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

The Vermont Book Shop
38 Main Street, Middlebury, Vermont
(802) 388-2061
Monday-Saturday 9:30 - 5:30 | Sunday 11 - 4