Secret Water (Paperback)

Secret Water Cover Image
This book cannot be purchased through our website.
Hard to Find

Other Books in Series

This is book number 8 in the Godine Storyteller series.


On an uncharted island, the Swallows discover mysterious footprints of a very large animal and a dangerous enemy as well, another group of children known as "The Eels." Thankfully, the Amazons are on their way

The Swallows and their father, Navy Commander Ted Walker, planned a camping trip but father was called away on naval business. Instead of camping, Father sets them a challenge: use a dingy to explore and create a map of low-lying islands until he can return.

As the children explore the inlets, coves, mudflats, and estuaries, they end up in a friendly "war" with The Eels just as Bridget, Titty, and Roger are trapped in the middle of a ford by a rising tide.

Friendship, family, resourcefulness, and sailing, too: Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series has stood the test of time. More than just great stories, each one celebrates independence and initiative with a colorful, large cast of characters. Secret Water (originally published in 1939) is the eighth title in the Swallows and Amazons series, books for children or grownups, anyone captivated by a world of adventure and imagination, exploring and setting sail.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781567920642
ISBN-10: 1567920640
Publisher: David R. Godine Publisher
Publication Date: February 7th, 1996
Pages: 376
Language: English
Series: Godine Storyteller

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.