Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking Cover Image
By Samin Nosrat (Read by)
$29.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


When Michael Pollan wanted to learn how to cook as part of his research for his book Cooked, he hired Samin Nosrat, then a chef at the famed Chez Panisse in Berkeley, to teach him. I tell you this because Pollan also wrote Food Rules, an illustrated edition of which featured the paintings of – can you guess who?! MAIRA KALMAN! Ok, enough!

Anyway, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is kind of the un-cookbook, including only the most basic recipes, and then a lot of instruction (wonderfully illustrated, I might add) on how to really TASTE one’s food, breaking it down into four basic elements. I don’t recommend this for a true beginner in the kitchen, but anyone who has gotten comfortable with a handful of techniques and menus will really appreciate Nosrat’s free-form approach to building a dish.

Now is when I expose myself as a true heathen and tell you that Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is also an extraordinary TV show on Netflix. Samin’s joy in preparing and eating food is infectious!

 

— Becky Dayton

Description


Now a Netflix series Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards Samin Nosrat reads "The Four Elements of Good Cooking," Part One of her New York Times bestseller Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781508284000
ISBN-10: 1508284008
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 26th, 2019
Language: English

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

The Vermont Book Shop
38 Main Street, Middlebury, Vermont
(802) 388-2061
orders@vermontbookshop.com
Monday-Saturday 9:30 - 5:30 | Sunday 11 - 4