Coot Club (Paperback)

Coot Club Cover Image
This book cannot be purchased through our website.
Hard to Find

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Godine Storyteller series.


Someone is wrecking wild birds' nesting places on the lake and selling eggs to out-of-town collectors. It's the Coot Club Bird Protection Society to the rescue

Dick and Dorothea Callum came to the Norfolk Broads during the Easter holidays, eager to learn to sail. There, they run into the Coot Club--children who protect the local birds from thoughtless tourists.

Trouble begins when a coot's nest is disturbed by a ship full of "Hullabaloos"--rude holiday boaters. The children try to convince the "Hullabaloos" to moor their noisy boat somewhere else. This fails and frantic chases, calamitous boat collisions, daring rescues (including by a dog, William the pug), and rewards ensue

Friendship and resourcefulness, dangers and excitement: Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series has stood the test of time. More than just great stories, each one celebrates independence and initiative with a colorful, large cast of characters. Coot Club (originally published in 1934) was ahead of its time in its concern for protecting wildlife. It is the fifth title in the Swallows and Amazons series, books for children or grownups, anyone captivated by a world of adventure, exploration, and imagination.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780879237875
ISBN-10: 0879237872
Publisher: David R. Godine Publisher
Publication Date: April 1st, 1990
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Godine Storyteller

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.