Rebel Daughter (Hardcover)

Rebel Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A young woman survives the unthinkable in this stunning and emotionally satisfying tale of family, love, and resilience, set against the destruction of Jerusalem in 70 CE.

Esther dreams of so much more than the marriage her parents have arranged to a prosperous silversmith. Always curious and eager to explore, she must accept the burden of being the dutiful daughter. Yet she is torn between her family responsibilities and her own desires.

Meanwhile, the growing turmoil threatens to tear apart not only her beloved city, Jerusalem, but also her own family. As the streets turn into a bloody battleground between rebels and Romans, Esther's journey becomes one of survival. She remains fiercely devoted to her family, and braves famine, siege, and slavery to protect those she loves.

This emotional and impassioned saga, based on real characters and meticulous research, seamlessly blends the fascinating story of the Jewish people with a timeless protagonist determined to take charge of her own life against all odds.

About the Author


LORI BANOV KAUFMANN was a strategy consultant for high-tech companies before she became a writer. She has an AB from Princeton University and an MBA from the Harvard Business School. When she learned about the discovery of the first-century tombstone, she wanted to know more. She was captivated by the ancient love story the stone revealed, which served as the inspiration for this book. Rebel Daughter is her debut novel. Lori Banov Kaufmann lives in Israel with her husband and four adult children. Visit her online at LoriKaufmann.com

Praise For…


“Highly readable and compelling . . . will hold your interest from the first page to the last.” — Blu Greenberg, author, and founder of the Orthodox Jewish Feminist Alliance

“This book follows in the tradition of The Dovekeepers and The Red Tent in rendering ancient Jewish history from the perspective of a young woman. . . . will appeal to YA readers looking for an in-depth yet accessible depiction of life in first-century Jerusalem.” –Association of Jewish Libraries

"Esther's remarkable, mysterious, and meticulously researched story is one that demands to be told." —Kirkus Reviews

"A very good read indeed." The Jerusalem Post

"The writing is clear, smooth, and accessible. An engaging story for historical fiction fans." —SLJ

"Brings ancient Jerusalem to life." —The Times of Israel

"Riveting." —Allegra Goodman, author of Kaaterskill Falls


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593125816
ISBN-10: 0593125819
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: February 9th, 2021
Pages: 400
Language: English

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.